Tuesday, December 01, 2009

It's the First Day of December

And the weather is cool and icy today -- no sign of fluffy flakes either. With my monthly newsletter needing to be done this week, I've chosen to share an article originally posted last year as my offering to you on this first day of December. I hope you enjoy.

The Tradition of Gift Giving

For those of us who love Christmas, we can gleefully start our holiday preparations in earnest. Which, of course, means focusing our attention more closely on the gifts we want to give this year.

One of my favourite ways of expressing love to the people in my circle is to give them gifts. I love finding or making little treasures that I hope will give them pleasure, as well as convey my esteem and affection.

After reading Gary Chapman's book on the five love languages, I realize that gift giving is probably one of my primary love languages (words of affirmation right up there as well). I love shopping for presents at Christmas time, although I have to admit my most favourite times of the year to give gifts are those times in between, when no one is expecting them. It's the surprise element that I adore.

Sometimes it's easy to get caught up in the social obligation of gift giving at this time of year. Instead of feeling a sense of joy and wonder, we can feel the pressure of giving because it's expected of us. I don't know about you, but I don't want to receive something from someone if they only feel a sense of duty to give it to me.

I don't want to give in that spirit, either! For me, I want my gifts to be an expression from my heart. Whether our gift comes wrapped in shiny paper or a note with gentle words of affirmation, or an offer to provide some act of service or spend time together, it doesn't matter if we're two or ninety-two, we are all looking for that little something that says, "You I cherish....you I notice."

As we prepare ourselves for this special holiday season, may the gifts we choose be ones that come from hearts filled with affection, esteem and love. Now that's living life beautifully!

Happy Preparations!

* * * * *
* Gary Chapman's five love languages include:
1. Giving gifts
2. Words of affirmation
3. Physical touch
4. Quality time
5. Acts of service


  1. I've enjoyed Gary Chapman's book on giving. One year we all gave each other coupons for service=truly a gift of self.

  2. Perfect gifts. May such as these flow from the great love of the giver, and of The Giver.

    Great thoughts!


  3. I will remember that for tomorrow-

    Words of affirmation


  4. I love to give rather than receive, but am alway so happy when someone surprises me with a gift....humilty is a wonderful gift....May you always share and know you are loved......:-) Hugs

  5. Thank you Brenda,

    like your post. Yvonne

  6. This is a great article.
    "He sets my life to song, and gives my heart dancing shoes." ~ Louise Brooks Rushing (My grandmother) She wrote this in the front oh her Bible. I inherited her shoes. : )

  7. Lin - what a great gift idea! I've been thinking about that too.

    Kathleen - I love how you said that!

    Staci - I still have a few books I need to read to complete my reading challenges for this year. Good to hear from you!

    Bernie - I love surprises too! Stay warm!

    Yvonne - Thanks for popping in.

    Beverly - What a beautiful quote of your grandmother's! And I loved the idea of you inheriting her dancing shoes!


To My Beautiful Readers,

Some people come into our lives, leave footprints on our hearts, and we are never the same. ~ Franz Peter Schubert

Thank you so much for leaving your 'footprint' here in my comment box. I do appreciate you taking a moment to share your thoughts today.

Brenda xo